U.S. Olympic Committee announces host and attendees for Team USA Awards presented by Dow, Best of the Year, taking place Nov. 29 in LA

Singer, actor Mark McGrath to host annual awards show at UCLA’s Royce Hall;

track and field athlete Chaunté Lowe to receive 2008 Olympic bronze medal in special ceremony

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. – Nearly 50 Team USA athletes, VIPs and celebrities will join singer, actor and television host Mark McGrath as he hosts the 2017 Team USA Awards presented by Dow, Best of the Year on Wednesday, Nov. 29, at UCLA’s Royce Hall in Los Angeles. The event will honor and celebrate the most outstanding U.S. performances from throughout the year, including Female, Male and Teams of the Year. The awards show will air Dec. 23 on NBC at 5 p.m. ET.

Media interested in attending the event can register for credentials here. Media opportunities will include red-carpet interviews, media seating at the awards ceremony, in-venue photographer positioning and post-event interviews with award winners.

There will be nearly two dozen 2017 Best of the Year and Best of the Month finalists in attendance, including Olympic champions Caeleb Dressel (swimming), and Helen Maroulis and Kyle Snyder (wrestling), and Paralympic champion Tatyana McFadden (track and field). For a complete list of athletes and attendees, click here.

High jumping sensation and four-time Olympian Chaunté Lowe will attend the event and be presented with her bronze medal from the Olympic Games Beijing 2008. She was recently upgraded to the bronze medal and will receive it for the first time during a special ceremony at the event.

Additional presenters and guests include:

Cat Cora: celebrity chef and first female Iron Chef

Janet Evans – swimming: Three-time Olympian and four-time Olympic champion, LA 2028 vice chair and director of athlete relations

Allyson Felix – track and field: Four-time Olympian and nine-time Olympic medalist

Carmelita Jeter – track and field: 2012 Olympian (track and field) and three-time Olympic medalist

Cobi Jones – soccer: 1992 Olympian, U.S. National Team member from 1992-2004, UCLA alum

Michelle Kwan – figure skating: Two-time Olympian and two-time Olympic medalist

Carl Lewis – track and field: Four-time Olympian, 10-time Olympic medalist and nine-time champion

Kyla Ross – gymnastics: 2012 Olympian and Olympic gold medalist

Kendall Schmidt: Actor and member of Heffron Drive, an indie rock duo

Brad Snyder – swimming: Two-time Paralympian and seven-time Paralympic medalist; 2016 Male Athlete of the Games

Louis Vega: Vice President of Dow Olympic & Sports Solutions and President of Dow, Australia and New Zealand

Casey Wasserman: Chairman of LA 2028

Jordyn Wieber – gymnastics: 2012 Olympian and Olympic gold medalist

In addition to presenting sponsor Dow, DICK’S Sporting Goods and USG serve as associate sponsors of the Team USA Awards, Best of the Year event.

WHAT The Team USA Awards presented by Dow, Best of the Year

WHO Team USA athletes, celebrities, VIPs, and members of LA 2028 and the LA community

WHEN Wednesday, Nov. 29, 2017

4:30-6:30 p.m.: Red Carpet

7-8:30 p.m.: Awards Show

Saturday, Dec. 23, 2017

5-6 p.m. ET: Broadcast on NBC

WHERE UCLA's Royce Hall

340 Royce Drive

Los Angeles, CA 90095

RSVP Visit TeamUSA.org/AwardsMedia and click on registration form

CONTACT Tommy Schield

tommy.schield@usoc.org | 719-644-5495

25 Years at #1: Your best source of news about the Olympics is www.aroundtherings.com, for subscribers only

Recent Articles

Study warns Beijing Olympic app could be vulnerable to cybersecurity breaches

The app is a required download for all Beijing 2022 attendees, including athletes and media

Pikes off the Pyramids? Giza set to host FINA events starting in 2023

The Pyramids of Giza are set to provide a stunning backdrop for international aquatics after FINA announced a series of events set to be held at the iconic Egyptian site. The images may help bolster the sporting prestige of the North African nation as it chases an opportunity to host the 2036 Summer Olympics.

IOC President Thomas Bach honored with bust in Beijing park

Bach becomes the fourth IOC president to be featured with his likeness

DETRÁS DE ESCENA: La soledad de Djokovic y la amenaza a una historia inmutable que no lo es tanto

Vacunado, Djokovic estaba en condiciones de intentar lograr lo que rozó en 2021: ganar el Grand Slam, la conquista de los cuatro grandes torneos en una misma temporada. Sin vacuna, Djokovic podría ser protagonista de un Grand Slam a la inversa: el tenista destinado a ser el más exitoso de todos los tiempos y que no juega ninguno de los cuatro grandes torneos.

BEHIND THE SCENES: Djokovic’s loneliness and the threat to an immutable history that is not so immutable

Vaccinated, Djokovic was in a position to try to achieve what he brushed in 2021: win the Grand Slam, the conquest of the four major tournaments in the same season. Without a vaccine, Djokovic could be the protagonist of a Grand Slam in reverse: the tennis player destined to be the most successful of all time and who does not play any of the four major tournaments.