IOC Executive Board to make proposal to the 138th Session on IOC membership



The Executive Board (EB) of the International Olympic Committee (IOC) has decided to submit to the 138th IOC Session, which will meet in July in Tokyo, the proposal to elect two Honorary Members, re-elect five Members, change the status of one Member and elect one Member.

Replacement of an elected Athletes’ Commission Member

Further to the resignation of Olympic Champion Mrs Kikkan Randall from the IOC Athletes’ Commission and consequently as an IOC Member, Olympic Champion Mrs Astrid Uhrenholdt Jacobsen has been appointed as a member of the IOC Athletes’ Commission to replace Mrs Randall until the end of her term, which is at the end of the Olympic Winter Games Milano Cortina 2026. The IOC EB will put Mrs Uhrenholdt Jacobsen forward to the IOC Session in Tokyo for election as an IOC Member as an athlete representative (defined in the Olympic Charter as an Active Athlete).

The IOC EB has also approved the proposal by the IOC Members Election Commission to change the status of IOC EB member and Chair of the Athletes' Commission Ms Kirsty Coventry from Active Athlete to Independent Individual IOC Member in Zimbabwe. Her term was set to end after the Olympic Games Tokyo 2020.

Honorary Members

The EB will propose to the IOC Session to elect as Honorary Members Sir Craig Reedie and HRH Crown Prince Frederik of Denmark, following his resignation as an IOC Member.

Members to be re-elected in 2021

The following five IOC Members, who are arriving at the end of their eight-year terms, will be proposed by the IOC EB for re-election by the IOC Session in Tokyo in July 2021:

Mr Octavian Morariu

Mr Bernard Rajzman

Mrs Mikaela Cojuangco Jaworski

Mr Paul K. Tergat

Mrs Dagmawit Girmay Berhane

IOC Ethics Commission

In its meeting today, the IOC EB decided to propose to the 138th IOC Session the re-election of the Chair and one member of the IOC Ethics Commission, as well as the election of a new member.

The proposal consists of the re-election for a four-year term of Mr Ban Ki-moon (Republic of Korea) as Chair of the IOC Ethics Commission, a role he has held since 2017; and of Mrs Hanqin Xue (People's Republic of China) – who has also been on the Commission since 2017 – as a member. The election of a new member, Mrs Laura Chinchilla (Costa Rica), who joined the IOC as a Member in 2019, is also included in the proposal. She will replace Ms Angela Ruggiero, whose four-year term is ending.

Your best source of news about the Olympics is, for subscribers only