El Moutawakel and Feisal Elected to IOC EB

(ATR) They replace Gunilla Lindberg and Willi Kaltschmitt Lujan on the IOC Executive Board.

(ATR) The two candidates for IOC Executive Board are approved to join the EB to replace two members who are stepping down.

Prince Feisal from Jordan and Nawal El Moutawakel from Morocco are the two new members. They are replacing Gunilla Lindberg from Sweden, whose term is expiring, and Willi Kaltschmitt Lujan from Guatemala, who is retiring from the IOC.

El Moutawakel previously served on the Executive Board from 2008-12 and as an IOC Vice President from 2012-16. This will be Feisal’s first term on the IOC’s agenda-setting body.

While the elections on Wednesday were straightforward, next year’s elections should prove to be a vastly different affair.

Seven of the 10 members must be replaced next year.

For general comments or questions,click here.

25 Years at #1: Your best source of news about the Olympics is AroundTheRings.com, for subscribers only.