World’s top lacrosse teams set to battle it out in the newest format of the game - Federation Focus

Also: FIH announces extension of partnership with Polytan; first nominees revealed for World Athletics Awards 2021.

 (World Lacrosse)
(World Lacrosse)

Men’s and women’s lacrosse teams from the United States, Canada, and Haudenosaunee Confederacy are set to play a series of round robin games at the World Lacrosse Super Sixes event in Baltimore.

World Lacrosse Sixes is the format chosen by the federation in its push for the sport’s inclusion at the 2028 Summer Olympic Games in Los Angeles. It is also the format due to be contested at the 2022 World Games in Birmingham, Alabama.

Sixes features fewer players (six versus six), smaller field dimensions, shorter game time, and less play stoppages in comparison to the traditional format of lacrosse. There’s also a 30 second shot clock for players to contend with to keep the game moving.

Speaking on the upcoming games between some of the sport’s top teams, World Lacrosse CEO Jim Scherr said, “following our launch of World Lacrosse Sixes less than six months ago, the new discipline has continued to gain popularity around the world due to its broader appeal, wider access, and super-fast-paced format.”

“Having the world’s top teams going head-to-head in Sixes for the first time will make for an incredibly exciting weekend in Baltimore, and will further showcase the sport on our journey to Olympic inclusion.”

This is the fourth of five tournaments held under the Super Sixes format this year. The tournament runs October 23-24 at Tierney Field in Sparks, Maryland. The games will be broadcast on Lax Sports Network.

FIH announces extension of partnership with Polytan


The International Hockey Federation (FIH) announced an extension on their partnership with Polytan, a member of Sport Group. The extended partnership will last until 2024, with Polytan providing its Poligras hockey turf for the 2024 Summer Olympic Games, 2022 and 2023 FIH Hockey World Cups, and the 2024 FIH Hockey5s World Cup.

The FIH has claimed that the system provided by Polytan for Tokyo 2020 required a third less water than the system used for Rio 2016, and was manufactured under strict environmental management standards. The FIH hopes the partnership will make the sport a leader in sustainable sports facilities.

FIH CEO Thierry Weil commented, “we are delighted that our trusted partner Polytan, which continues to innovate and invest in hockey, has extended its partnership with FIH.”

“Over the years Polytan has repeatedly delivered world-class facilities for the Olympics and Hockey World Cups. They are leaders in sustainable sports surfaces and construction, so we are very happy to have their support in hockey’s sustainable future, in particular for producing water-free elite pitches in the years to come.”

Nominees for World Athletics Awards 2021 begin to be revealed

(World Athletics)
(World Athletics)

The best achievements in the sport of athletics during the 2021 season will be celebrated by World Athletics at the World Athletics Awards 2021. Awards will be up for grabs in 10 categories.

The categories are: World Athlete of the Year (Male/Female), Rising Stars (Male/Female), Coaching Achievement, Inspiration Award, Member Federations Award, Woman of the Year, President’s Award, and Athletics Photograph of the Year.

The nominees for the Male World Athlete of the Year have been revealed on Thursday as:

Joshua Cheptegei, Uganda (5,000m Olympic Champion, 10,000m Olympic silver medalist)

Ryan Crouser, USA (Shot Put Olympic Champion, Shot Put Diamond League Champion, indoor and outdoor shot put world record setter)

Mondo Duplantis, Sweden (Pole Vault Olympic Champion, Pole Vault Diamond League Champion, Pole Vault European Champion)

Jakob Ingebrigtsen, Norway (1,500m Olympic Champion)

Eliud Kipchoge, Kenya (Marathon Olympic Champion, largest winning margin since Munich 1972)

Pedro Pichardo, Portugal (Triple Jump Olympic Champion, Triple Jump Diamond League Champion)

Daniel Stahl, Sweden (Discus Throw Olympic Champion, Discus Throw Diamond League Champion)

Miltiadis Tentoglou, Greece (Long Jump Olympic Champion)

Damian Warner, Canada (Decathlon Olympic Champion, 4th on All-Time List of Performances)

Karsten Warholm, Norway (400m Hurdles Olympic Champion, 400m Hurdles Diamond League Champion, 400m Hurdles world record setter)

The nominees in the other categories will be revealed in the coming days.

There will be a special voting process to determine the final list of nominees eligible for the award. According to World Athletics, “the World Athletics Council and the World Athletics Family will cast their votes by email, while fans can vote online via the World Athletics social media platforms.

“Individual graphics for each nominee will be posted on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram this week; a ‘like’ on Facebook and Instagram or a retweet on Twitter will count as one vote.”

The final nominees will be announced after the conclusion of the voting period on November 6. Awards in every category will be presented to winners at a live show in December.

Commenting on the Awards, World Athletics President Sebastian Coe said, “as always, the World Athletics Awards will recognise athletes who have performed at the highest level across the year, taking into account not only the Olympic Games, but the one-day meeting circuits.”

“We do recognise that athletes in some parts of the world faced greater challenges than others in accessing international competition this year, which complicated the nomination process.”

“However, we saw some impressive breakthroughs at the Tokyo 2020 Olympic Games and we look forward to those athletes having more opportunities to shine next year, with five World Athletics Series events and a full schedule of one-day meetings on the calendar.”

Federation Focus is presented by the International Weightlifting Federation. For more information on the IWF, click here.