CURLING: Member Associations Set for World Debuts at WMxCC 2016

A record 37 teams will compete at the World Mixed Curling Championship 2016 (WMxCC) in Kazan, Russia, which begins later this week.

A record 37 teams will compete at the World Mixed Curling Championship 2016 (WMxCC) in Kazan, Russia, which begins later this week.

For the event schedule, live results, teams and news visit,

This event will run from Friday 14 until Saturday 22 October in the Kazan Sports Palace and will see Andorra and Croatia compete in their very first World Curling Championship. Both have previously participated in European Curling Championships, but this is their first outing at a world level event.

Netherlands and Korea also join them making their WMxCC debuts. From the inaugural event in Berne, Switzerland, Lithuania, Israel and bronze medallists China won’t feature this time around, but 2015 gold and silver medal nations Norway and Sweden will compete.

2016 World Junior Curling Championships Sportmanship award winner Fredrik Nyman will skip Sweden this time. Second Joakim Flyg is the only team member who competed in 2015. Norway are an entirely new outfit from the team that won gold last year and are skipped by Christer Wibe.

The 37 competing Member Associations (MAs) will be split into five groups. They are:

Group A: Defending champion nation Norway, Italy, Scotland, Japan, New Zealand, Belarus and Romania.

Group B: 2015 silver medallists Sweden, Hungary, Finland, Slovakia, Ireland, England and Brazil.

Group C: Hosts Russia, Denmark, Poland, Czech Republic, Spain, Australia and Kazakhstan.

Group D: Canada, USA, France, Latvia, Austria, Belgium and newcomers Korea and Andorra.

Group E: Germany, Switzerland, Turkey, Estonia, Wales, Slovenia and debutants Netherlands and Croatia.

The World Mixed Curling Championship is an open entry event for all World Curling Federation (WCF) Member Associations. Each MA can enter one mixed team consisting of two female and two male athletes. Unlike men’s and women’s curling no alternates are used.

Following an opening ceremony, round-robin play will begin at 1830 on Friday 14 October and after 24 sessions will conclude with the final draw at 1600 on Thursday 20 October.

Tie-breakers and two last 16 rounds will follow, before the quarter-finals at 1900 on Friday 21 October and semi-finals at 0900 on Saturday 22 October. The gold and bronze medal finals will take place on 22 October at 1400.

Hosts Russia will play Spain in the first round-robin session – 1830 on 14 October – while Norway begin their campaign during session four – on Saturday 15 October at 1600 – against Romania. All times are Moscow Standard Time.

Scotland and Germany are the only teams who remain entirely intact from the 2015 edition of this event. This will be German skip Andy Kapp’s 18th appearance in a World Curling Championship. Scotland are skipped by 21-year-old Cameron Bryce.

Other familiar faces are Mixed Doubles pair Irantzu and Gontzal Garcia who will compete for Spain; having competed in 2015 Hungary’s Zsolt Kiss is joined by his Mixed Doubles partner Dorottya Palancsa this year and 2015 Le Gruyère European Curling Championship bronze medallists Milja Hellsten and Jenni Raasaanen will compete for Finland.

For more information,please contact:

Cameron MacAllister

Communications & Media Relations Manager

World Curling Federation


Chris Hamilton

Digital Media Officer

World Curling Federation


20 Years at #1: Your best source of news about the Olympics, for subscribers only